Speech Night

Our Primary and Secondary School Speech Night was held last Friday at the Pilbeam Theatre. We formally recognised the achievements of our students in the areas of Sport, Citizenship, Culture and of course, Academics.

I want to extend a very special congratulations to Mirae Ries who was named as Dux of Rockhampton Girls Grammar School. Our guest speaker for the evening, 2010 graduate Claire Orford, shared wise words about her journey in life. Her words on pursuing happiness and valuing yourself resonated well. We were entertained with multiple performances including Bella Voce, Molti Voce, Year 12 Drama student Chanelle Ecker, our Year 6 Strings Ensemble and our Elite Dance Company. A lovely moment was the awarding of Shaw colours for outstanding achievement to Breanna Baker, Kara-Lee Buckton and Charlotte Carroll for placing first at Dance nationals. We also awarded a Shaw colour to 2021 graduate Sydney Peff who achieved the highest score in the state for English.

For many, the highlight of the evening was the handover of roles from outgoing to incoming prefects. We thanked all prefects but particularly exiting Head Girls, Allysah Rasin and Nylah Torova. The announcement of incoming Head Girls Hadasshah Akop and Megan Clark was greeted with well-deserved applause. After the presentation of our Seniors of 2022 for the final time, an emotional Salani Hoffman presented her Valedictorian Speech.

First and Second in Year awards are detailed below.

Year 4

Second in Year 4

Pippa Brown

Elsie Marsh Cup for First in Year 4

Belle Brandon

Year 5

Second in Year 5

Ella Lewis

Alison Bendall Cup for First in Year 5

Emily Schafer

Year 6

Second in Year 6

Laine Kelly

Delyse Ramm Cup for First in Year 6

Ella Williams

Year 7

Second in Year 7

Georgia Hutton

Ruby Florence Cup and Mackay OGA Bursary for First in Year 7

Porsha Lowien

Year 8

Second in Year 8

Catherine Wiltshire

Bev Mouritz Cup and CAR Luck Bursary for First in Year 8

Lydia Johnstone

Year 9

Second in Year 9

Thaariyah Oczenaschek

Margaret Black Cup and Yvonne Turner Bursary for First in Year 9

Alessandra Williams

Year 10

Second in Year 10

Matilda Peff

Till Cup and Junee Bursary for First in Year 10

Dale Lewis

Year 11

The Morning Bulletin Prize for Second in Year 11

Megan Clark

Dorothy Mulder Cup and CQUniversity Bursary for First in Year 11

Bridgette Williams

Year 12

Gloria Hansen Memorial Bursary, RGGS Old Girls Association Prize and Programmed Property Services Prize for Second in Year 12

Mia Pienaar

Maud Bendall Cup and RGGS Old Girls Association Prize for Dux of the School

Mirae Ries

Dr John Fry

Deputy Principal - Studies


Enrolling your daughter at Girls Grammar has never been easier. Contact us today to find out how.